Page 1 of 2 1 2
#253460 06/11/14 09:07 PM
User Showcase
G
Veteran
OP Offline
Veteran
G
Hello PG music community. This is a new song I've been working on. From a production standpoint, it is still very much a work in progress (scratch vocal and arrangement with everything playing all the time). I was inspired by the more serious subject recent works of Floyd and Gruverider and decided to post this earlier than I originally planned. It's very dark for me-the melody came first and sometimes the music just writes the lyrics. Try to listen through the off pitch notes. I am still learning the lyrics and it was rough (trying out my SM7B after hearing Gruverider's killer vocals, although I don't think it will have the same magic for me). Thanks for listening. Take care. Greg

https://soundcloud.com/gjohnson-2/take-me-down

The tracks all came together-I'll post the name later. I only put the string quartet on top which I felt worked beautifully. I'm constantly blown away by what this program is capable of.

TAKE ME DOWN

Take me down to the water
Let the tide carry me away
I have kissed the devil’s daughter
I have chosen the cards that I would play
I’m not taken with the notion of redemption or rebirth
Just a quantity of elements returning to the earth
In my orbit through experience, I’ve gained no further worth
Than the sand flowing through the hourglass

Take me down, undo my memories
Of the man, the man I’ve been
Grant me the peace of guiltless reverie
Like a leaf sailing in the wind
I won’t ask for satisfaction, for the sense of something gained
Just for freedom from this torment, anesthesia for the pain
I just wish to be released now from this life I’ve lived in vain
And to drift without this weight upon my soul

There’s no value now in sorrow or regret
No hope for change if time ain’t changed me yet
My spirit’s grown to weary for remorse
To distant from the path, too far off course

So, take me down to the silence
To the blackness, the bottom of the well