Index
Next Thread
Print Thread
Go To
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Off-Topic
Veteran
Veteran
I used to operate a limousine service. My regulars knew I was a musician, so they appreciated the name—Roll Star (with a star logo between the two words). cool

Richard

"My primary musical instrument is the personal computer."
Off-Topic
R
Veteran
Veteran
R
Well, I know exactly one guy who uses TAXI, the aforementioned Steve Guiles, and TAXI has gotten him placement in several TV shows and commercials.

That said, Steve's abilities are deep and wide and his hook-writing is pretty amazing. Any manner of pop/rock is in his wheelhouse. He is a prolific songwriter. I'm talking 100+ songs a year. As a hobbyist.

Steve is still employed as a middle school teacher - that's his main paying gig.

To say that once TAXI gets you a placement, that it eliminates the need for the service itself because you have a relationship with the end client, that isn't necessarily true. These clients have access to thousands upon thousands of songs as source material and what you were able to provide to fit the mood of a shot of a certain commercial does not mean that you are now going to be employed forever by that client.

I'm thinking of famous song placements for a particular end customer. Volkswagen is pretty well versed in this arena. In the past 15 years or so, there are some brilliant song placements by VW's ad agency ranging from Nick Drake's "Pink Moon" https://youtu.be/BIOW9fLT9eY to Clannad's "Theme from Harry's Game" https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2KpNzalFKPo to Da Da Da by Trio: https://youtu.be/jdccNAOvPHg to Molly's Chambers by Kings of Leon: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cKOnYX05btM to Fly By Night by Rush: https://youtu.be/V57v_UlaZP0

Pretty hard to think of a more diverse sounding group of songs placed in commercials. Yet, each song fit the theme and mood of the commercial. I'm guessing they will continue to make great matches.