Next Thread
Print Thread
Go To
Recording, Mixing, Performance and Production
S
OP Offline
S
Hi everyone.

This is kind of a pre-purchase question.

I am not a musician, cannot play an instrument at all, though I want to learn.

I am a writer and have a ton of lyrics that I think would make a decent song and I want to write and record a song just because it would be fun.

Can I use BIAB on it's own, without playing an instrument to write and record my own song?

If yes, are there any good resources to learn the basics of the songwriting craft?

Thanks.

Scott.

Veteran
Veteran
Hi Scott,

Welcome to the forums.

Originally Posted By: ScottGardiner70
Can I use BIAB on it's own, without playing an instrument to write and record my own song?

Yes

If yes, are there any good resources to learn the basics of the songwriting craft?

Yes

Have a look at some of the videos at the below link. They should help you get a feel for what BIAB is capable of.

Windows clips
http://www.pgmusic.com/videos.bbwin.htm

Mac clips
http://www.pgmusic.com/videos.bbmac.htm

Essentially, what you'd need to do is simply to enter a chord progression and then choose a particular style to play it. Once the style is selected, BIAB will create an entire backing. You don't need to know anything about music to do this.

Since chord progressions are not copyrightable, initially you could either use a progression from one of BIAB's demo songs or the progression to any song ever written. Eventually, by using existing progressions, you'll develop a feel for how they work and eventually start creating your own progressions from scratch.

If you check out some of the clips, I think you'll start to see what I mean.

Regards,
Noel

MY SONGS...
Audiophile BIAB 2024
S
OP Offline
S
Noel,

Thanks very much for the information. I will have a look (and listen) at the links you provided.

I appreciate the response.

Scott.

Veteran
Veteran
Scott,