Dear Santa,

I’ve noticed that New enhancements and levels of BAIB tend to come out near Christmas Time. Thus, you might be the appropriate one to talk to…

I’ve been working with Band-in-a-Box for about 10 years now, have purchased every level since 8.0, and love it! My compliments to the chef, as it were!!!... As a result of this, I’ve become pretty experienced with its use, and from time to time have had some ideas on how it could be enhanced, made more powerful, or easier to use. I’ve collected these into this compendium, and offer then to you for your consideration.

I might add that much of what I am going to suggest can be achieved by using Power Tracks Pro Audio, but I have found that toggling between BAIB and PTPA is a very cumbersome proposition. Much of what is added in PTPA is lost on the translation back to BAIB, since they are two different tools with two different purposes. It is possible to create “fragments” in BAIB and export them to PTPA, but this requires a lot of deft and error-prone editing. I have found that the best use of the combination is to do as much of the job as possible in BAIB, export to PTPA, and don’t look back! These enhancements would make it possible to delay that “transition point” as far as possible, greatly enhancing the power of the tools.

In any event, here is my Christmas list…

• Dynamic Octave Control:

Often, particularly when scoring jazz, I find it desirable to switch patches and voices in the middle of a chorus. Depending on the instruments chosen, the proper range for one is often too high (or too low) for another, making things like trading-four situations difficult to control in BAIB. The best solution would be a facility that lets me use the “Melody>Edit Melody>Utilities>Transpose up/dn one octave” facility at playback time in the same manner that patch switching is done.