Next Thread
Print Thread
Go To
#643266 02/21/21 09:31 AM
Help! Tech S.O.S (Off topic)
B
OP Offline
B
Hey everyone - I'm still a BIAB beginner here.

I play through my pc using TH-U and use an audio interface. I got BIAB for xmas and it's a great piece of software, other than desperately needing a lot of time with a half-decent interface design team...

But I had one goal with it - I've got a simple chord progression, which I've written some lyrics for. I wanted to work on this by setting a band off on a loop and then playing along with it. I think that it'd help me to find the right tempo and timing, and try out some different styles.

I can start the band on a loop with a chord progression but I can't work out how to hear my guitar at the same time.

In a DAW, it's easy enough - just open an instrument track, set it to the input from my audio interface and turn on input monitoring. Do the same for a drum patterns and I can play along.

I thought it would be the similar for BIAB as well, but I can't seem to work out what I need to do. I've read the manual but nothing seemed to cover how to hear yourself live.

As a follow up question, TH-U has a VST plug-in and I want to use this when I play. BIAB has VST support and I can load the plug-in fine. But I can only seem to be able to apply to an existing track. I can't hear my guitar through it live.

Is this possible?

Be really grateful for any light that anyone can shed.

Last edited by Book Lung; 02/21/21 09:32 AM.

----
Keep jammin!

Derrek R.
Book Lung #643482 02/22/21 10:16 AM
Veteran
Veteran
For other forum members, +++ TH-U +++ is an amplifier simulator application by Overloud.

Book Lung,

Band-in-a-Box does not offer direct monitoring. Direct monitoring is the ability to playback your guitar audio and Band-in-a-Box generated audio in real time.

What are you using to get your guitar signal into your computer and into TH-U or Band-in-a-Box?