Go To
#654116 05/02/21 07:08 AM
Beginners Forum
A
Ape13 Offline OP
OP Offline
A
Hey,
I am a beginner and have owned about a month of Biab Pro. The program is, of course, versatile but quite cumbersome.

I’m interested in versatile guitar tracks, so I would have asked (or made sure) if I understood correctly how VST and “output midichords” work.

I’ve mostly admired NI’s Session Guitarist plugins, but there’s no trial version available for them to try.

But so: I get the song chords as a midi file in DAW (Mixcraft), after which I choose Session Guitarist for the track. So this program makes a track a guitar track and there are styles to choose from. So how does it work well?

What if I want to use, say, five guitar styles on the same track with that program? Do I have to cut the midi track to five different tracks and choose the desired Session Guitarist for each one? Or how does it work? (Contact 6 I have.)

Does Session Guitarist work great or are they better or just as good in the same price range or cheaper?

Thanks to potential respondents in advance!

Beginners Forum
Veteran
Veteran
If you want to get surgical with tracks (work on specific bits and pieces) I suggest trying Realband.
It comes free with BiaB (Windows only, Mac version doesn't have it)
This gives you 48 tracks to play with; much more flexible. Generate 8 or 10 guitars and then cut/paste a final end result.

As far as Session Guitar goes, I don't own that one, so can't comment.
You would have a ton of other guitar options by either simply having someone play the guitar parts, or upgrading to Ultrapak with more Realtack options (more guitar players).
I don't work for PG, nor am I trying to 'upsell' you, just speaking from experience using these programs.

Simply put; the more Realtracks you have available the better your experience and end result.
And using RB, you can generate lots of tracks and figure out what parts you want to use from each .. without losing your previous work.