Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread
Print Thread
Go To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
I want a video that shows me how to ....
B
B
This is just the kind of thing that I have been looking for. I was able to wallow through in the beginning and find enough info to create a basic song but it really lacked dynamics and I couldn't find much on that concept. I watched a couple of intro videos from PGM and then the videos on the new features for 2022 and I had a pretty good grasp of all that but I was having trouble making that next step. This video covers some of the exact things I needed to do and opened doors for figuring out even more! Would be better if it had narration but I still appreciate normal folks stepping up to do this sort of work.

It's a shame that we have to depend on users and the community for these kind of training materials. I'm a pretty savvy software user, I've been doing QA/Support/Dev work for the last 20 years so I can navigate most anything I need to but this beast can be overwhelming. Just the sheer number of options could bring the faint of heart to their knees...not to mention the technical aspects as well as music fundamentals and theory. I could see this being a hurdle that many users can't overcome on their own. Even I thought about quitting...

Now, I'm sure the manual probably covers the items in this video and more but when you just pick up the software it's like drinking from a fire hose and you really don't have context for a lot of the features because you've never tried to use them. Plus the manual is about as dry as burnt toast - an excellent reference but terrible teacher. There are some parts of it you could skip right over but how far and are you missing any tidbits in doing so? Yeah it's not an ideal training strategy for something as complex as this can be. A fully comprehensive, soup-to-nuts video would have been helpful. Hopefully future users get one.

P.S. I also think BIAB is a pretty amazing piece of software especially for the price.