You need to be logged in to post
Options
Index
#716217 - 05/09/22 08:26 AM [Help! Tech S.O.S (Off topic)] BIAB run on Linux
Loc: Oklahoma
MountainMan Offline

I apologize if this has been covered previously.
Will there ever be a Linux version of BIAB?
I do not want to run Win 11 and after support is dropped for win 10 I will switch to Linux for my everyday computing. If I continue to use win 10 off line for BIAB, will upgrades and updates of BIAB still work on offline win 10? Or should I just use my system as it is at that time? I am not sure that this is clear. I will try to explain further if anyone would like me to.
I don't use BIAB professionally, but I have a lot of fun with it.
I am a retired Chemist and Musician and would like to keep using it.

Thank You for reading and also if you respond.
I am not technically challenged but close to it.
Den Rogers

#716264 - 05/09/22 01:18 PM [Help! Tech S.O.S (Off topic)] Re: BIAB run on Linux [Re: MountainMan]
Loc: Hockley, TX
Byron Dickens Offline
Apprentice

Loc: Hockley, TX
My question is why are you going to want to tie your hands behind your back like that?

https://soundcloud.com/athanorsoundlabs

#716283 - 05/09/22 03:08 PM [Help! Tech S.O.S (Off topic)] Re: BIAB run on Linux [Re: MountainMan]
Loc: Hampshire, UK
Gordon Scott Offline
Journeyman

It doesn't look likely that PGM will produce a Linux version, at least not anytime soon.

It is, though, possible to run BiaB on Linux using Wine ... both user pipeline and I, at least, have it mostly working, but there are still a few hangups. Probably the bigbest is that BiaB uses Windows Media Player to play .wma files and that doesn't work for it on Linux. There's a workaround for most things, by expanding the .wma files to .wav, or by getting the audiophile version. The demo songs don't play, I presume because BiaB doesn't even look for a .wav version.

It will also run in VirtualBox on Linux. There's a bit of messing about to route USB MIDI devices.