You need to be logged in to post
Options
Index
#730752 - 09/07/22 06:57 AM [PowerTracks Pro Audio] How to use virtual instrument?
daiphan Offline
Enthusiast

Hello all,

I just bought the latest version of PT and please help me on how to incorporate virtual piano so I can start recording. Please walk me through each step as I am a complete beginner. Thanks Dai Phan

#730754 - 09/07/22 07:29 AM [PowerTracks Pro Audio] Re: How to use virtual instrument? [Re: daiphan]
daiphan Offline
Enthusiast

The controller is Kawai VCP-1 and the virtual piano is Synthology Ivory. The interface is Focusrite Scarlet 2i2 interface. The PT is the latest 2022 version. Thanks all. Dai

#730808 - 09/07/22 02:32 PM [PowerTracks Pro Audio] Re: How to use virtual instrument? [Re: daiphan]
Loc: Mi., USA
rharv Offline
Veteran

Connect Kawai to computer using USB connection. The 212 does not facilitate MIDI as far as I know.

Assuming the Synthology Ivory is a VST instrument that PT can use, you have to go to a MIDI channel.
Open the DX/VST area using the downward area on the left side of the track.

Once in that window, select the first of the set of four slots for FX (this will accommodate a VSTi and the rest will accommodate VST FX (reverb etc)

If your Synthology Ivory does not appear in the list you'll have to use the Add VST button to browse to the location of the DLL file and add it to the list.

At this point you should be able to record MIDI and then Play it back using the Synthology Ivory, but not at the same time.

To do this, go to Options - Preferences - AUDIO and enable the Input Monitoring option.
This allows playing through a VSTi in real time.

Now go back to the MIDI track and Open the FX area again.
Now in the very top drop down scroll way down and select Input Monitor Insert.
Then you should be able to hear the keyboard play the VSTi.
If you enable the IM record option in Auido-Prefs you can also record it.

Hope I didn't forget any steps.

Summary