Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread
Print Thread
Go To
Band-in-a-Box for Macintosh
Joined: Mar 2015
Posts: 34
Enthusiast
OP Offline
Enthusiast
Joined: Mar 2015
Posts: 34
Hi,

When you go to a bar > Right Click > Bar Settings you can change the relative tempo.

According to the manual:
« Tempo Change: Most songs will have a single tempo throughout, but if you want to change the tempo at a certain bar of the song, then use this dialog box to type in the new tempo in beats per minute. Alternatively, type in a relative tempo change in a range of –90 to +100. A setting of –50 halves the tempo, a setting of 100 doubles it. »
https://www.pgmusic.com/manuals/bbm2021full/chapter6.htm#

But it not working that way.

For instance if I have a tempo at 200BPM et take "relative" at -26 I obtain a tempo at 110BPM






If I put -50 I obtein a 50BPM Tempo (and not 100BPM, meaning not the half in opposition of what is said)

I just want a "half tempo" but I can't enter decimals. So I can't have a 100BPM Tempo frown

I don't understand why the manual saying something wrong and I don't know how to make it work correctly. I have a 200BPM Tempo and I want a 100BPM Tempo! Do you have any idea?

(P.S. I need RELATIVE Tempo. Not fixed ones!)


MacMini M1 16Go (Monterey) - Macbook Air M1 8go (Big Sur)
Band-in-a-Box UltraPAK 2021
Band-in-a-Box for Macintosh
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 18,445
Veteran
Offline
Veteran
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 18,445
Two things:

1:
I'm not sure if this is Mac only related issue. I just tried with Windows 2022 latest build and set an 8 bar song with a tempo of 120 to change the tempo by -50% at bar 5. During playback, the tempo changed to 60 as expected.


2: Rather than 'Off Topic', this post might be better placed in either the Beginners or the Mac section of the forums. Perhaps the Moderators might move it for you?

Attached Files (Click to download or enlarge) (Only available when you are logged in)
2022-09-26_13-08-07.jpg (103.02 KB, 62 downloads)
2022-09-26_13-09-15.jpg (70.53 KB, 62 downloads)

BIAB & RB2024 Win.(Audiophile), Sonar Platinum, Cakewalk by Bandlab, Izotope Prod.Bundle, Roland RD-1000, Synthogy Ivory, Kontakt, Focusrite 18i20, KetronSD2, NS40M Monitors, Pioneer Active Monitors, AKG K271 Studio H'phones
Band-in-a-Box for Macintosh
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 18,445
Veteran
Offline
Veteran
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 18,445
I've asked the moderators to review the location, in the hope you will get better saturation of users who might be able to offer additional support.

In the meantime, can you try with the exact same settings that I have shown above and confirm that the issue is still consistent with your version?


BIAB & RB2024 Win.(Audiophile), Sonar Platinum, Cakewalk by Bandlab, Izotope Prod.Bundle, Roland RD-1000, Synthogy Ivory, Kontakt, Focusrite 18i20, KetronSD2, NS40M Monitors, Pioneer Active Monitors, AKG K271 Studio H'phones
Band-in-a-Box for Macintosh
Joined: Mar 2015
Posts: 34
Enthusiast
OP Offline
Enthusiast
Joined: Mar 2015
Posts: 34
Ok I tried

I set the tempo to 120BPM and enter "-50" at "Relative Tempo Change".


I obtein a Tempo at 60BPM witch is the hal of 120BPM! Success! smile




I decide to cahnge the main Tempo at "160BPM" just to try. I should obtein "80BPM"


But in reality I obtein a "40BPM" Tempo. Fail. frown


I precise that I'm using Band-in-a-Box for Macintosh Version 2021 (514)


MacMini M1 16Go (Monterey) - Macbook Air M1 8go (Big Sur)
Band-in-a-Box UltraPAK 2021
Band-in-a-Box for Macintosh
Joined: Mar 2015
Posts: 34
Enthusiast
OP Offline
Enthusiast
Joined: Mar 2015
Posts: 34
Ok



Now I got it! I found where the Bug is. cool

The Bug is only when I start the song at the location where I've made the Tempo change.

For instance if I make the change at bar 8 and start the song at bar 8 (in order to verify) I obtain a Bug with the tempo like what I'm talking about in this topic.

But if I start the song at the begining of the song, or one or more bars before or one or more bars after the bar where I made the change everything work perfectly. smile


May be this bug was corrected for the version 2022. If not it could be nice to inform PGMusic to add this in the list of bugs to correct.

(PS. At fisrt I checked for an update and there was one (515) that I installed with no more success)


MacMini M1 16Go (Monterey) - Macbook Air M1 8go (Big Sur)
Band-in-a-Box UltraPAK 2021
Band-in-a-Box for Macintosh
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 18,445
Veteran
Offline
Veteran
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 18,445
Originally Posted By: Empress Sissi
Ok
Now I got it! I found where the Bug is. cool
The Bug is only when I start the song at the location where I've made the Tempo change.

For instance if I make the change at bar 8 and start the song at bar 8 (in order to verify) I obtain a Bug with the tempo like what I'm talking about in this topic.

But if I start the song at the begining of the song, or one or more bars before or one or more bars after the bar where I made the change everything work perfectly. smile

May be this bug was corrected for the version 2022. If not it could be nice to inform PGMusic to add this in the list of bugs to correct.

Hmmmm. I see. You want to start the song from a bar where the tempo is already set to relative -50%. In my additional tests, for a song at 120bpm with a relative temp change at bar 5 to -50% it starts at 60 if started from the same bar that has the relative speed change. If I change the tempo to 160 and start the song from bar 5 it starts at 80.

HOWEVER! Your song has more than one chorus. Note that for each new chorus, the tempo will be reduced by -50% again. If I play through or start from chorus 2, I get a tempo of 40, as expected.
Start
Chorus 1 Bar 1 at 160bpm
Chorus 1 Bar 5 at -50% relative = 80 bpm
Chorus 2 Bar 5 at -50% relative = 40 bpm
etc...

I think it is working exactly as designed.



Attached Files (Click to download or enlarge) (Only available when you are logged in)
2022-09-26_22-41-54.jpg (62.82 KB, 39 downloads)

BIAB & RB2024 Win.(Audiophile), Sonar Platinum, Cakewalk by Bandlab, Izotope Prod.Bundle, Roland RD-1000, Synthogy Ivory, Kontakt, Focusrite 18i20, KetronSD2, NS40M Monitors, Pioneer Active Monitors, AKG K271 Studio H'phones
Band-in-a-Box for Macintosh
Joined: Mar 2015
Posts: 34
Enthusiast
OP Offline
Enthusiast
Joined: Mar 2015
Posts: 34
Is use tempo change only one time and there is no severals turn jus one turn. I don't know what you mean by "is already set to relative -50%".

When I start the song it using the correct "general tempo" and when it come to the bar with tempo change at -50 it half the tempo as expected.
Now, if I start the song (changing nothing else) from the bar where tempo change there is a bug and the tempo is not the half of the g"eneral tempo". I don't know why and I can't call it "working correctly". It's not sounding like this to me.

By the way it's look strange having the tempo half at each turn. I didn't try this but if I need severals turn I hope having a solution in order to avoid this. It's weird I don't know any song with tempo reduced to half at each chorus.


MacMini M1 16Go (Monterey) - Macbook Air M1 8go (Big Sur)
Band-in-a-Box UltraPAK 2021
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Go To

Link Copied to Clipboard
ChatPG

Ask sales and support questions about Band-in-a-Box using natural language.

ChatPG's knowledge base includes the full Band-in-a-Box User Manual and sales information from the website.

PG Music News
Happy Victoria Day! (Monday, May 20th)

We are celebrating Victoria Day on Monday, May 20th!

Our availability through this long weekend is:

Saturday, May 18: Closed
Sunday, May 19: Closed
Monday, May 22: 6am-6pm PT

www.pgmusic.com/contact.htm

Henry Clarke: Revolutionize Your Band-in-Box® Tracks with Regenerating Function

One of the new features added with Band-in-Box® 2024 is the Tracks Window, which will look familiar if you've worked with other DAWs.

Henry Clarke explains why he loves the Re-generation function within the Tracks Window in their video Revolutionize Your Band-in-Box® Tracks with Regenerating Function.

Watch video.

Learn even more about what the Tracks Window can do with our video Band-in-a-Box® 2024: The Tracks Window.

User Video: Next-Level AI Music Editing with ACE Studio and Band-in-a-Box®

The Bob Doyle Media YouTube channel is known for demonstrating how you can creatively incorporate AI into your projects - from your song projects to avatar building to face swapping, and more!

His latest video, Next-Level AI Music Editing with ACE Studio and Band-in-a-Box, he explains in detail how you can use the Melodist feature in Band-in-a-Box with ACE Studio. Follow along as he goes from "nothing" to "something" with his Band-in-a-Box MIDI Melodist track, using ACE Studio to turn it into a vocal track (or tracks, you'll see) by adding lyrics for those notes that will trigger some amazing AI vocals!

Watch: Next-Level AI Music Editing with ACE Studio and Band-in-a-Box


Band-in-a-Box® 2024 German for Windows is Here!

Band-in-a-Box® 2024 für Windows Deutsch ist verfügbar!

Wir waren fleißig und haben über 50 neue Funktionen und eine erstaunliche Sammlung neuer Inhalte hinzugefügt, darunter 222 RealTracks, neue RealStyles, MIDI SuperTracks, Instrumental Studies, "Songs with Vocals" Artist Performance Sets, abspielbare RealTracks Set 3, abspielbare RealDrums Set 2, zwei neue Sets von "RealDrums Stems", XPro Styles PAK 6, Xtra Styles PAK 17 und mehr!

Paket | Was ist Neu

Update Your PowerTracks Pro Audio 2024 Today!

Add updated printing options, enhanced tracks settings, smoother use of MGU and SGU (BB files) within PowerTracks, and more with the latest PowerTracks Pro Audio 2024 update!

Learn more about this free update for PowerTracks Pro Audio & download it at www.pgmusic.com/support_windows_pt.htm#2024_5

The Newest RealBand 2024 Update is Here!

The newest RealBand 2024 Build 5 update is now available!

Download and install this to your RealBand 2024 for updated print options, streamlined loading and saving of .SGU & MGU (BB) files, and to add a number of program adjustments that address user-reported bugs and concerns.

This free update is available to all RealBand 2024 users. To learn more about this update and download it, head to www.pgmusic.com/support.realband.htm#20245

The Band-in-a-Box® Flash Drive Backup Option

Today (April 5) is National Flash Drive Day!

Did you know... not only can you download your Band-in-a-Box® Pro, MegaPAK, or PlusPAK purchase - you can also choose to add a flash drive backup copy with the installation files for only $15? It even comes with a Band-in-a-Box® keychain!

For the larger Band-in-a-Box® packages (UltraPAK, UltraPAK+, Audiophile Edition), the hard drive backup copy is available for only $25. This will include a preinstalled and ready to use program, along with your installation files.

Backup copies are offered during the checkout process on our website.

Already purchased your e-delivery version, and now you wish you had a backup copy? It's not too late! If your purchase was for the current version of Band-in-a-Box®, you can still reach out to our team directly to place your backup copy order!

Note: the Band-in-a-Box® keychain is only included with flash drive backup copies, and cannot be purchased separately.

Handy flash drive tip: Always try plugging in a USB device the wrong way first? If your flash drive (or other USB plug) doesn't have a symbol to indicate which way is up, look for the side with a seam on the metal connector (it only has a line across one side) - that's the side that either faces down or to the left, depending on your port placement.

Forum Statistics
Forums66
Topics81,804
Posts737,487
Members38,589
Most Online2,537
Jan 19th, 2020
Newest Members
xristos69, Eliana Davis, Nao incomodem mais, minimashi, EricQP
38,588 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
MarioD 163
rsdean 109
dcuny 104
DC Ron 100
Noel96 83
Today's Birthdays
larryfarr, Va Russ, woofer
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5