Yes, we all depend on our "favorite 5 licks" but Kenny's are just too sappy and formulaic. Junior Walker only played 5 notes but he knew when and how to play them

And I would guess more than half the professional saxophonists on the planet think they can play better than Mr. Gorelick. For that genre of music, I'd take Grover Washington Jr. or Najee any day.

And as far as Kenny "Selling Out" - I have no problem with any musician selling out. If you find something that works, and they are paying you to do it, then do it until it doesn't work anymore. Playing commercial music is better than a day gig - and yes you can make more money selling drugs, but that's a very dangerous profession (unless you are a pharmacist).

And I play commercial music for a living. I enjoy most of the songs I play, but if I had my druthers, I wouldn't play "Yakety Sax" anymore - but when someone asks for that, I play it the best that I can and actually enjoy playing it in spite of my self.

So Kenny is doing what he should be doing, making tons of money, playing to thousands of adoring fans, and enjoying life.

And some artists do get "fat and lazy" when they get older, others keep on getting better and better - Jeff Beck is playing better now than he ever did, Jimmy Smith never lost it, neither did Stan Getz.

And yes, Carly wrote some very memorable songs, plays piano well, and sings decently, but she isn't the best of the best. There are plenty of singers with better voices, better control, and more versatility out there. That's not to take anything away from her talent.