Hi megafiddle,

To answer your programming question, I started programming Cobol, assembler, RPG and PL1 when I was 26 after I left teaching guitar. I was basically programming for business apps. I learned about 11 languages in total including Unix shell programming. I left that job after having learned VBA for MS-Access mostly. I left to trade the markets so now I program in a language called EasyLangauge which is used in MultiCharts and TradeStation. I still to a lot of VBA since my database app communicates with MultiCharts via global variables. I never learned C language which is likely the language used to program these midi drives etc. So therefore I am not up on all the Windows system calls as a C programmer would be. It is just that over the years (I am 58) I have caught on to some of the basic stuff going on with windows (especially having worked with tech support people for 19 years). If I had only played guitar for 22 years (as I have) I would be 100% lost on this midi drivers topic. The 32 years working with computers helps me know how to design some of the Google searches, reformat disk drives to install windows, etc. You might have guessed there was a period of overlap where I was still teaching guitar while programming. Returning to playing guitar has been a treat for me (discovering this whole new music world which I totally missed).

How about yourself, what is your background that gives you the knowledge that you have?

UPDATE: The stuff below may be a bit out of date. I just found a link below that mentioned something I suspected before which is that the "USB Midi 5Pin adaptor" may supply the Midi driver built in.
http://www.musicmasterworks.com/midi_cable.html
So I just have to make sure I get a good one. I still need to follow the procedure below however.

So I think I know what I have to do now regarding buying the GR-1.
1/ Find a music store that has a "Midi-5pin to USB adaptor" which I can return if I need to.