We all have different tastes and desires.

I am an excellent musician and a very good arranger. I can improvise moving solos, but I am a lousy song writer. I haven't come up with anything that pleases me. My big weakness is lyrics. They always sound corny and trite.

I have done a couple of comedy songs though, but we play them for fun. It seems if I'm being goofy and not trying to be serious more comes out.

I use my arranging skills and creativity to make aftermarket Band-in-a-Box styles. I get great satisfaction by creating a style and tweaking it until it works with BiaB. I've also done a bit of 'for-hire' work for a couple of other auto-arrangers, but they aren't as much fun as BiaB because BiaB's StyleMaker gives me more tools to work with and makes a better end product when used in a song.

I do enjoy putting my take on other people's songs and when it comes time for me to improvise a solo, it's bliss.

When I was in cover bands, I enjoyed playing songs 'like the hit record' but my solos were almost always improvised. Many were like what Santana did to Peter Green's "Black Magic Woman" solo; take some of the themes from the original and build a new solo around them. Others complete complete improvs, and a few of them nailing the original. It was all fun. I still do it like that but more are complete improvs now. Sometimes I take the opening phrase from the famous solo and then go totally me after that. I think that gives the audience a good intro to an improv solo.

To denigrate someone who plays cover tunes is a slam to every classical musician and most jazz players - telling them their art form is not worthy. (And I definitely know that is not you are doing Eddie - others have and I'm just making a point).

Song writing and song playing are two different skills. Some people are blessed with both. Irving Berlin wrote a zillion songs, some of them great ones, and he could only play the piano in one key, and I've heard couldn't play it well in that key.