In response to Floyd and HearToLearn about how I record and mix my vocals. First of all, I am by no means an expert. I'm a learner, like all of us here. If anything I share is helpful, use it. If not, ignore it. So here goes...

Nothing fancy to it. That "tutorial" Floyd mentioned and shared a portion of was written several years ago. Like most of you, I have changed some of my ways of doing things over the years, but the most important thing I have tried to hold onto is this: Use your ears.

My Saffire 6 bit the dust a couple of years ago, so now I use a Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 that I picked up in a pawn shop for $150. I recently stumbled across a Shure SM27 at the same pawn shop, that I picked up for about $180. I don't have any expensive equipment. The mic is run straight into the 6i6, and from there, straight into the computer.

I bounce back and forth from Logic Pro, Studio One, and occasionally Reaper (mostly just to keep it interesting, and it helps me to keep learning different ways to do things).

Everyone's voice has its own characteristics, so there are no hard and fast rules. I've found for my voice, I cut the low ends (usually below around 150-200hz - really depends on the song), and slightly boost the upper mids, around 1.5-2k. I usually will stack 2-3 compressors to level everything out, and bring out different characteristics that the compressors have to offer. I try to be careful not to over-compress, and by using multiple compressors lightly, that makes it easier. I also will use multiple reverbs at times (sometimes in bus, and sometimes in the vocal channel, itself) - sparingly, unless the song calls for more. And also the same with delays.

The foundation of the voice is in the eq and compression. Reverb and delays are for enhancement, not foundation (unless the song really calls for it).