To all: A great discussion. I offer a quick profile of my DAW/BBW use history and supporting hardware/instruments. I started with BBW 2004 and currently use BBW 2020. I'm primarily a guitarist, but also play keyboard/piano, and other instruments. In the early days I started with Cakewalk Home Studio, then Cubase (lower end version); updated to higher level Cubase, but gave it away due to the dongle shackle (I seldom do anything on line with my music PC) and the "phone home or you can't use the software" angle is completely unacceptable. Imagine you can't use the SW because the internet is down, or the dongle failed, or the company was sold or out of business and you bought a new PC and can’t transfer the software. I tried Abelton live (one-dimensional, awkward interface…recent versions have the same look and feel). I then used Digital Performer (DP) on a friends MAC. I didn’t want to buy a MAC (although in recent years DP became available on both PC/MAC). Then I bought Cakewalk Dimension Pro and SONAR 5 Studio edition (2005) that included other soft-synths. Really liked SONAR 5 and it was stable. A friend of mine showed me his Pro Tools (PT) setup. PT required PT’s proprietary Hardware...a deal breaker. Pro Tools then, and now costs more than I will spend for a DAW.

In 2012 I upgraded to SONAR X1 (some issues at first but subsequent patches cleared most issues for me). And don't laugh… I still use my Presonus Fire-Wire for my home studio audio/midi with Presonus drivers. I use an Edirol Fire-wire unit for my portable rack setup and therefore don’t need ASIO-for-All. My setups are plenty fast for my needs and don’t have to deal with USB bus congestion. I have the free version of Presonus Studio One 4, and it's actually pretty good. I only use it to help a few friends who have the higher level(s) Studio One.