In another thread, Charlie Fogle taught me something I didn't know BiaB could do.

"In the first box type the number 1 and enter
In the second box type the number 4 and enter
In the third box type the number 5 and enter" . . . thank you Charlie.

As a newbie, I think I know what 1-4-5 means. In the key of C major for example it's the progression C-F-G. But what I didn't know is that BiaB is smart enough to equate the numerical note number with its corresponding note/chord in the scale. [There's probably a better way to describe this.]

When I write a song in BiaB, I try to communicate to BiaB what's in my head by giving it the standard chords/chord progression that I think might work; and experiment until something sounds good to me. Likewise, when I communicate with other players I collaborate with, we use standard chord names.

The background here is that I'm a completly self-taught ammatuer song writer (instrumentals) with limited music theory knowledge but can see the value of understanding music theory as much as I can. Also, when I play 1-4-5 progressions on my bass, I know where the "1" is on my fretboard but I'm not thinking "1"; I'm thinking "C". And for some songs that I have committed to memory and don't need a chord sheet (no matter the key) I'm not even thinking "C" but rather I'm thinking geometric patterns and x-y locations on my fretboard. A huge step forward for me (that happened in the past year) is that in certain/rare cases, I know the tone that will be produced before I even fret the note or press the key. It is these memorized songs that I play the best with maximun "feel" and freedom.

So, in my world in BiaB I use traditional note/chord names (C, F, G, etc). And when I play my bass or keyboard I use the same traditional note/chord names and sometimes geometry. So there is a lot going on here; various symbolic music notations, geometry, memory, what is musically pleasing and now, maybe "1-4-5" symbology/arithmetic.