I am not sure what PG could do in regard to making USB audio easier for newbies.
I am far from a newbie and I still have terrible issues on my windows machine (on my iPad USB audio works wonderfully, although it's very opaque to the user).

I have my Music Laptop set up so my DAW always plays through my USB soundcard while the Windows audio goes through the headphone jack and then into a little mixer I have (where I plug and unplug audio output from microphones, piano, and other hardware devices. When using them in the DAW, I just plug them into the USB card as needed). That lets me listen and record in my DAW but also allows me to fire up YouTube if I need to check on something.

The problem is that Windows 10 audio is diabolical. My Mac is very old, so I no longer use it for music production (or anything else, really), but compared to windows it's a piece of cake.

The problem is that Windows USB audio is just complicated, unreliable and confusing. There is not much that PG could do about it because every user's setup is different.
In my case, I have a collection of sound cards bought pretty much every time Windows got a new version and the manufacturer "forgot" to write decent drivers for their product.
Funny enough, when I finally connected my iPad pro 2021, every USB soundcard, except for the very first one I bought in the late 90s, worked flawlessly. They were recognized, audio quality excellent and so on.
On my windows machine (both laptop and desktop windows 10 with specs high enough to make it a Supercomputer not too long ago) I often get nothing, no sound until I turn off the laptop and unplug/plug. I change nothing, but it's like my USB card isn't there at all.

And don't get me started with ASIO and the Windows proprietary drivers. I have a Behringer card that occasionally lets me use its own ASIO drivers, but more often than not I am forced to use ASIO4ALL instead. No one knows why.