Quote:

Hi. I'm new to band in a box and was wondering which of the following are posible with it??

I teach at home with electronic kits (Roland TD-20 and Yamaha DTXpress).

I would like software for the following and I'm not sure if BIAB does it?

1) Play a pattern on my TD-20 and see the drum pattern or score appear on screen as a teaching aid.

Yes, this can be done with any MIDI output drumkit, but be advised that Band in a Box does not notate drum parts using the Standard for same. Don't know why that is, but is annoying to drummers I've known. I found out that I can export a BIAB song as a .MID file, open that up in a Notation Editing program suite (I use Sibelius, used to use Finale, others like Noteworth Composer which is a shareware and less $$) and *convert* to proper drum notation for printing on a page.

Quote:

2) Play along to songs (with the drum part removed)

Most definitely. Matter of fact, you don't "remove" the part, you can simply MUTE it by Rightclicking on that part's trackname at top of window and it will stay muted for an entire session of loading songs or until you desire to unmute it. One can still view notation while a part is muted, too.

Quote:

3) Import midi songs and get a display of the drum part (notation) to teach others

Again, BIAB will display the notation, but maybe not on the lines and spaces where you wish the students to see them. Boo. I'm not familiar with where the stuff *shold* be, I'm only relating what drummers who are have told me about in the past.

Quote:

4) basic recording i.e add my drum part to a song and replace existing drum track

Using the MIDI output of one of those two kits, you can record to the Melody or Soloist track in realtime with the rest playing back. Great for making examples, etc.

Quote:

5) record a drum pattern and play it back with BIAB also showing the musical notation.

Yes, with the same notation caveats mentioned above.

Quote: