Print Thread
Go To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#146242 01/11/12 03:50 AM
Off-Topic
Expert
OP Offline
Expert
I’d be extremely grateful for any advice from guitar-playing forum members. I’m looking to buy a steel string electro-acoustic in the very near future.
I don’t actually believe anything gtr sales staff say in shops as I am of the impression that they say pretty well anything to sell the models they (1) make the most money from or (2) can’t otherwise shift. Call me a cynic but there you are.

Here is what I will be using it for
- playing, rehearsing at home, of course
- small halls, restaurants, bars..

Here is what I want to spend
- 500 usd max including a hard case

Here is my level of ability as a guitarist
- entirely self-taught (ie non taught) adequate, ok for strumming along to most tunes, very little finger picking

Other factors
- may be daft, but my preference would be for an all black model
- I already have a half way decent pure acoustic so will really only be playing this new one amplified.

Here are just some of my questions..
- should the ‘slimline’ models like the acoustic strat be considered or do they sound as thin as they look?
- what are the brands to look for in the gtr itself and in the electronics?
- what should I look out for in inspecting particular models in shops?
- is it true that round back gtrs (Ovation) can only be played by someone standing up?
- jumbo shape? dreadnought shape?
- does it really matter if the gtr is solid top or not?
- is it insane to buy a gtr direct (via internet) i.e. without inspecting/hearing the product before purchase?

(as they don't say on exam papers) you don't have to answer all the questions!

Many thanks for any input,

Marc

Off-Topic
Expert
Expert
Thomann in Germany are a good online store with a good return policy. They ship all over the world as well. Have a look at ibanez, takamine are a good workhorse, yamaha do some nice ones, the choice is endless. Good luck.

http://www.thomann.de/gb/ibanez_aeg20etg.htm